Return to Past Rendezvous

October 11-13, 2013

2013 – GFGR 2: The Electric Boogaloo

After the success of the inaugural year, GFGR expanded in 2013 with not one, but four Guests of Honor – Special Guest of Honor Owen K.C. Stephens of Super Genius Games (now Rogue Genius Games), Artist Guest of Honor Tiffany Toland, Costuming Guest of Honor Kristen M. Collins, and Montana Guest of Honor Greg Schneider.


The event had attendance of over 180 guests who came for open gaming, discussion panels, a costume contest, RPG Writers Workshop, and our Iron GM® Local tournament.


Gaming and Discussion Panels

GFGR 2013 again had two full days of discussion panels on topics varying from getting started in the gaming business to our favorite gaming styles and the house rules we use in our games, and expanded into topics on cosplay and superheroes.  In addition, games ran almost around the clock from noon on Friday to closing ceremonies on Sunday. The support and attendance was fantastic for these.  Great Falls Gaming Rendezvous would like to thank all the panelists and gamemasters for their time and insight about gaming and the RPG industry.


 Marlesa “Mouse”
Ben Donnelly Owen K.C. Stephens
Kristen Collins Darren Johnson Jeff LaRock
Mark Gedak Tiffany Toland CJ Ruby
John Ruggles Greg Schneider Lee Shinaberry
Finn Stallknecht Pat Darque Jay Peters


Costume Contest

Congratulations to Eric Ulberg on winning the costume contest. His Tony Stark costume was voted the best in show and Eric took home some nice prizes.


RPG Writers Workshop

The RPG Writer’s Workshop was in its second year, with judges CJ Ruby, Jay Peters, Mark Gedak, Owen Stephens, and Greg Schneider.


Iron GM™ Local

Saturday night was the big day for our Iron GM™ Local tournament.  The tournament featured 5 gamemasters and 25 players.  Prize necklaces were given to those who rolled a critical success and a neon pink dunce cap was passed around to the player or GM with the most recent botch roll.  Additional prizes were given to the player who had the most critical success rolls as well as the player with the most botches.   Fun was had by all!  James Eckert of Helena won, with Molly Lloyd coming in second, and 2013 defending champion Matt Winkle taking third.